Return to Headlines

HHS student broadcast journalism program "HTV Magazine" wins 16th Pacemaker, nation's top prize

Nov. 14, 2022

HTV Buzz

Hillcrest High School's "HTV Magazine" has won its 16th Pacemaker Award, an annual recognition of the top broadcast journalism program in the nation. Watch the award-winning program.

The National Scholastic Press Association sponsors the yearly contest, which requires schools to submit three full shows from the 2021-22 school year. 

"We are honored to be recognized by NSPA," said Dave Davis, "HTV Magazine" adviser and broadcast journalism teacher. "Our students submitted three shows for consideration, and we're proud to continue the legacy of exceptional student journalism on the Hill."

This is the 20th time in 26 years HTV has been named a finalist, winning the award 16 times since 1996. The Hillcrest show, produced for teens by teens, holds the national record for scholastic broadcasting.

The 2022 Pacemaker winners can be found here:

In addition to receiving the top honor for its program, two Hillcrest students received national awards for their stories from the National Scholastic Press Association. In the "Broadcast Commentary" category, Jaela Burris placed first in the nation, and Emelie Ampf, placed second. Jordan Shafferkoetter and Abigail Bull also earned an honorable mention in "Broadcast Feature."