Return to Headlines

Media students from CHS attend New York festival

Central High School had 17 media students accepted into the 2019 All American High School Film Festival presented by IFC Films in New York City recently. This festival is the largest student festival in the world. The students’ films were screened at the AMC Theatre in Times Square.

The students accepted are:  Emma Brown, Elijah Conaway, Zoe Hamilton, Gladis Hernandez, Addie Pearman, Kennasyn Ray, Katie Saiko, Alex Sharp, Joseph Tetlow, Ashlyn Vauble, Sai Vuda and Abbie Weiler.  There were also students who participated but graduated from Central High School and are now in college. Those graduates are: Kayla Helms, Michael Lee, Mariah Oke-Thomas, Kaylee Sun and Nic Wiley.

Of the students represented at the festival, these students were finalists:

Zoe Hamilton (Top 6 in broadcast package & Top 9 in Micro Film)

Katie Saiko (Top 6 in broadcast package)

Alex Sharp (Top 9 in Micro Film)

Joseph Tetlow (Top 9 in Micro Film)

Sai Vuda (Top 2 in Vlog)

Abbie Weiler (Top 2 in Vlog)

To see the winners’ films visit