About Our School
James A. Jeffries Elementary School was named after the late James A. Jeffries. Mr. Jeffries was a banker and civic leader in the community and a member of the Board of Education from 1945 to 1960. During those years he served two terms as president of the board.
Jeffries has a unique design. The building consists of several pods of classrooms which are connected to a central core facility by wide hallways.
The school was designed by the architectural firm of Harold Casey and Associates and built by the Bramer Construction Company. The building cost approximately $1,500,000 which were a part of a $6,000,000 bond approved by the voters in 1978.
When the facility opened in the fall of 1980, it had housed two different student bodies. It was known as "Disney-west" for a short time when a problem with fumes at Disney forced that school's temporary closure in January of 1980. The students at Disney were moved to the Jeffries building for the remainder of the 1979-1980 school year.
The school board in place at the time of Jeffries dedication consisted of:
Mrs. Roseann Bentley, President Larry Dixon, Vice-president
William Hart Jack Cole
Mrs. Mary Pilant Mrs. Jackie McKinsey
The administrative staff which worked closely with the construction of Jeffries was:
Dr. J.E. Kuklenski, Superintendent of Schools John Sweeney, Deputy Superintendent
Dr. Wanda Gray, Director for Elementary Education
Jim Neely, Director of Building Services
Bev Herndon, Coordinator, Planning and Construction
- Mrs. Sabrina Francis
- Dr. Ken Neale
- Mrs. Susie Farr
- Dr. John Utne
- Mr. David Martin
- Dr. Liz Cooper
- Mr. Tracy Williams
- Dr. Tom Masterson
Jeffries Elementary feeds into Carver Middle School and then, based on residency, Kickapoo High School or Parkview High School.