Return to Headlines

Delaware attendance boundary expands for 2020-2021 school year

On April 2, 2019, Springfield Public Schools' voters approved the funds to renovate and expand Sunshine Elementary and to build a new Delaware Elementary.  The approved plans required boundary changes to the current Portland, Sunshine, Delaware and Westport elementary schools’ attendance areas to maintain optimal capacity levels.  These boundary changes go into effect for the 2020-2021 school year.  There is no change for families who live within the current Delaware attendance area.

Boundary Change Overview

  • Current Portland attendance area will become part of the Sunshine attendance area.  
  • A portion of the current Sunshine attendance area will become part of the Delaware attendance area.
  • A portion of the current Holland attendance area will become part of the Delaware attendance area.
  • A portion of the Westport Elementary attendance area will become part of the Sunshine attendance area.  No current Westport students will be impacted by this change.

Learn more here.